OOTD Monday: Thrifting Lookbook

Hauls, OOTD Mondays

A couple weeks back we went thrifting and picked up some really great pieces. For this OOTD, we put together a lookbook of how we would style each item.

Audrey:

The first item I picked up was this really great maxi skirt. It was borderline matronly, but I think the buttons down the front saved it from looking too boring and old lady-like (Not that there’s anything wrong with that…it’s just not the look I wanted). Another feature I love on this is the slit in the front.

Please pardon my squinty face. It was super sunny :)

I paired it with a slouchy tank, a multi-strand necklace, and a pair of classic black heels. You could absolutely go more casual by pairing this skirt with sandals. In fact, that’s probably the route I’ll take most of the time with this skirt, but I thought it’d be fun to gussy it up a bit for this shoot.

Skirt: Thrifted (duh)

Top: Cotton On

Shoes: Ross

Necklace: Walmart

Item number two was this oversized sweater, perfect for fall! Unfortunately, it was 102°F while I was shooting this. Not a pleasant experience

I opted to wear it with black leggings, boots, and a top knot. Pretty much the epitome of fall fashion.

The sleeves are a little long, but I kinda like that. It adds to the coziness factor.

I LOVE these boots! I wear these any time I have an excuse to. They’re a little unusual because they’re riding style, but that’s why they’re my favorite.

I got this adorable headband (ear warmer?) as a Christmas gift last year and I STILL haven’t had a chance to wear it :( So I knew I had to include it in this OOTD, weather be damned. I think the dusty rose color goes perfectly with the tawny sweater. I cannot wait until it’s cold outside and I get to dress all cozy!

Sweater: Thrifted

Leggings: Forever 21

Boots: Ross

Headband: Forever 21

Grand total: $10.98

Ella:

Yup, my first item is also a maxi skirt  (promise we didn’t do that on purpose). I can’t tell you how long I’ve been searching for one! Since I’m 5’3, every maxi skirt I’ve tried on has been way too long and unflattering. I was this close to giving up but then I found this beauty at Goodwill of all places haha. I paired it with a belt to accentuate my waist and to pull the outfit together.

Though I wore it with a plain black top, since this skirt is black & white, I’ll be able to create so many different looks with it.

Skirt : Thrifting :)

Top:  Urban Outfitters

Belt: Forever 21

Necklace: Claire’s

Shoes: Urban Outfitters 

This pea coat was literally a last second find. Audrey and I had gone through most of the racks and tried on a bunch of clothes. I was done looking but Audrey was still going through the coat racks.  While waiting for her, the pattern of this coat caught my eye. I got so excited because it was exactly my size and a new coat was on my fall/winter wishlist. So yeah, you can say it was fate ;)

Can’t to wear this with some boots and a nice cozy scarf. UHH I’m sooo ready for the cold weather!!

Grand total: $14.98

Thrifting can be a lot of fun. You have to sort through a lot of weirdness, but in the end it’s worth finding those really great, “one of a kind” pieces (for a huge bargain). Remember to always take a friend with you for feedback, and try EVERYTHING on before purchasing. And of course, wash those clothes really well before wearing them.

What’s the greatest piece you’ve ever found while thrifitng?

One thought on “OOTD Monday: Thrifting Lookbook

Leave a Reply

