Inspired By: FALL

Inspired By

The joy of Fall/Autumn is upon us. Time to bring out the cozy sweaters and scarves. Enjoy the indoor rainy day activities with a warm cup of tea. Here’s what inspires us during this harvest time…

MOVIE:

Ella: Midnight In Paris 

I can’t tell you how much I love this movie. The reason why I picked it is because I can so imagine cozying up on the couch with a blanket and enjoying the beautiful Parisian scenery. This movie just puts me in such a good mood!

Audrey: When Harry Met Sally

This movie just screams Fall to me. Partly because of the setting of the movie, and partly because my sister and I make it a point to watch this movie at least once every Fall/Winter. I love the Christmas in New York feel, and it is just an amazing movie overall! Such a classic

SONG:

Ella: Jazz

I just couldn’t come up with one song, so I kinda went with a genre. I’ve notice that the music I listen to during the fall is very mellow and sometimes a little melancholy. I particularity like listening to Billie Holiday because there is so much soul and passion in each of her songs.

Audrey: Hugh Laurie

Like Ella, jazz definitely says Fall to me. But since I listen to it year-round, I decided to hone in on one artist that gives me that Fall feel. I remember I was just floored when I discovered that Hugh Laurie (Dr. House) sings! And even more floored when I heard his music. He has a bluesy style and his voice is just out of this world. His music = my rainy day soundtrack (along with Norah Jones and Billy Joel).

BEVERAGE/FOOD:

Ella : PUMPKIN PIE!

I didn’t even have to think twice about this. I love love love pumpkin pie. Such a comfort food during the fall.

Audrey: Candy Corn

I was always sorta meh about candy corn, but I recently re-discovered my love for it. It’s a nice treat to have once a year (all that sugar can only be tolerated seasonally!). It reminds me of Halloween and Halloween movies. LOVE. (My backup was Eggnog, but that’s really just a Christmas thing. Stay tuned because we may do an Inspired By Christmas post!)

PLACE:

Ella: Coffee Shops

I’ve recently been spending a lot of time in coffee shops. There’s nothing like warming up with a nice cup of coffee or tea and enjoying the comforting atmosphere.

Audrey: Panera Bread

Though I frequent this place all year long, it is a very autumnal place. I remember going there on rainy days and getting a nice hot latte or some soup and working on college apps (ugh) or just hanging out. Even the color scheme reminds me of fall time.

TREND:

Ella: Layering

The best part of putting an outfit together during fall is all the glorious  layering. Chucking on a cardigan and scarf to go along with that cute top. Matching your favorite skirt with a pair of fun tights.It’s just so amusing experimenting with different pieces!

Audrey: Infinity scarves

First of all, how in the heck do you pick ONE Fall fashion item ?? They’re all so amazing!! But I settled on infinity scarves [specifically, knit infinity scarves] because I just started wearing them this season and they’re amazing. They really do pull any outfit together and keep you extra toasty.

PHOTO:

Ella

One of my favorite things about Fall is the gloomy rainy weather (unfortunately  we’ve literally had only ONE rainy day so far). Sounds like an oxymoron but gloomy weather puts me in a great mood. I’m sure if I lived somewhere where it rained constantly I would have different feelings, but I live in LA and rainy days are rare.

Audrey
Screen Shot 2013-07-08 at 12.02.10 AM

This pic really hits home for me. Sure, there are thousands of photos of cozy, tea-drinking, sweater-clad people walking through the rain and the leaves, but this picture is reminiscent of the Fall days I experienced as a child. Watching Disney cartoons with my sister as the rain poured outside. Not having school or worries (we had the track system so we were home from school in the fall). My mom bringing us lunch. Those were the days, and this picture has all that rushing back.

QUOTE:

Ella: Today is the oldest you’ve ever been and the youngest you’ll ever be again.

This quote doesn’t relate to fall particularity but it’s a quote I’ve recently been obsessed with. I kind of had an AHA moment when I first read this. There’s just so much depth and makes you truly appreciate each day.

Audrey: “Autumn…the year’s last, loveliest smile” – William Cullen Bryant

Is that not the perfect description of Autumn?? I fell in love when I heard this quote. It’s so simple yet so brilliantly describes this time of year.

ART:

Ella: Giving Thanks

The artist that first popped into my head was Rockwell because of his very famous Thanksgiving dinner painting (called Freedom From Want). I’m a huge fan of Rockwell’s art and illustrations! The piece that I picked  is called Giving Thanks because it not only goes with the fall festivities but it reminds me to be thankful for all my blessings.

Audrey
Screen Shot 2013-07-08 at 12.02.57 AM

Ugh this is perfection. The gloominess of a rainy day, all the people mulling about in their busy lives, and then there’s the central figure. She’s a pop of color in the midst of all the glum, and best of all, she’s stopped to enjoy the rain. She’s enjoying the circumstances, reveling in them. I just love it. I feel like her on rainy days :)

Autumn is such an inspiring time of year. What inspires you about this season?

Leave a Reply

