December 2013 Faves

Monthly Favorites

Audrey:

Makeup

NYC Ultra Moist Lip Wear in Mahogany

MahoganyI was on the hunt for a dark lip color for the fall/winter and I stumbled upon this treasure. NYC products are great because they aren’t too pricey but they usually offer great dupes for higher end lipsticks. I’ve heard that this one is a great dupe for Talk that Talk from the RiRi Hearts MAC collection. It’s surprisingly good quality for the price (I expected it to be like a piece of chalk). Of course it does require some touching-up throughout the day, as does any dark color, but overall it’s a beautiful dark tone without being too 1990s goth.

Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick in Plum Velour 850

While on said hunt ^ I also came across this lipstick. And because I’m a sucker, I couldn’t say no to either one. This Revlon shade was more of a berry shade and it’s definitely everyday wearable. This line of lipsticks is almost like a lip balm because it’s super nourishing. A light swipe gives just a hint of color, but it’s also buildable to produce a beautiful, deep berry color.

YouTube

Byron Talbott

Byron Talbott

Click to visit his channel

I actually found his channel through his wife, Rachel Talbott, who is a beauty guru. He has a cooking channel that I could sit and watch for hours. The videos are never too long, and he makes the most amazing food ever. Definitely check him out

NikiNSammy

NikiNSammy

These two are the weirdest twins you’ll ever meet – in the best possible way. They put out hilarious, nonsensical videos. Their chemistry is awesome and their videos are really unique. Some of my faves are their (awful) cooking tutorials.

Music

I’ll Surely Die – The Rubens

This songs was love at first listen. Everything about it, from the beat to the lyrics to the singer’s warm voice, is just perfection. This, of course, lead me to check out the rest of the album and omg. I love every single song. Some of my faves include  Best We Got, Don’t Ever Want to be Found, and Look Good, Feel Good.

Shows & Movies

Freaks and Geeks

Freaks & Geeks

First of all, shame on me for having discovered this show so late in my life. It’s definitely a cult classic, which is right up my alley, because it only ran for one season. The characters are so lovable and it’s just the perfect teen show. I’ll definitely be re-watching these 18 episodes over and over again. Oh and the best part is that all of the episodes are on Youtube, so enjoy! ;)

Pulp Fiction

Pulp Fiction

One more cult classic because why not. I’d heard a lot about this movie, but I wasn’t sure whether I would like it or not. I ended up loving it way more than I thought I would. It’s a difficult movie to explain but all I say is watch it and decide for yourself whether you love it or hate it (it’s one of those movies).

Ella:

Music

Arctic Monkeys – AM

AM

I was so excited when the Arctic Monkeys 5th album came out! They are one of my favorite bands and Alex Turner’s voice is pure magic. This record is a soundtrack for a night out. I think every single track is brilliant but here are my top favorites…

1) Do I Wanna Know?

2) Arabella

3) No.1 Party Anthem

4) Fireside

5) Knee Socks

Beauty

Neutrogena Deep Clean Invigorating Foaming Scrub

neutogena

I love using this scrub in the morning because it’s so refreshing. I have trouble waking up and this really helps. It has a cooling effect and leaves my skin feeling fresh after every use. I’ve also used the Clean and Clear Morning Burst but I prefer this product way more! I really recommend it to my fellow night owls out there.

Boots Expert Sensitive Gentle Refreshing Toner300

I picked this up at Target when I ran out of my Lush toner and was pleasantly surprised. I still prefer the Lush toner but this does the job and feels really nice on the skin.

NYX Matte Lipstick in Alabama

nyx lip

This has been my go to red lipstick for the month of December. It’s a perfect shade of red for me, not too bright and not too deep. It goes on smoothly and has pretty good wear. I like the formula for this lipstick and will definitely try out other shades.

Movies 

A Cat in Paris

cat in paris

I randomly came across this movie on iTunes. After watching the trailer, I was blown away by the animation. The film is hand drawn and the visuals are incredible. I fell in love with the colors, Parisian scenery, and music in the movie. I have to admit that the storyline was not my favorite, but everything else was so beautifully done that it made up for it. There is also an English version so don’t worry about subtitles. The film is a work of art and I really enjoyed watching it.

Leave a Reply

