May 2014 Favorites

Monthly Favorites

Audrey:

Youtube:

Blogilates
Blogilates

I’ve heard about her channel before and seen a couple vids, but this month I started actually doing her workouts and I loved them. They’re great for a quick workout or in addition to a run because they really target certain muscles and you definitely feel/see the payoff.

Before You Exit
before you exit
These three brothers are super talented. I discovered them through their spectacular All of Me cover. Their wonderful harmonies and powerful vocals make for amazing covers of songs. They have original music as well, but sometimes it’s a little too boy band-y for my taste. Nevertheless, there’s no denying that they are tremendously talented.

Peter Hollens
Peter Hollens

Yet another amazingly talented Youtube musician. Peter does jaw-dropping a cappella arrangements that are so much fun to watch. One of my faves is his recent Phantom of the Opera video. Check him out!

Tim H & Jack Howard

These guys have two separate channels but often work collaboratively as well. Yes, I’m rather late to this party. Oops. Again, I’d always heard about them and seen them in other people’s videos, but this month I really got into their videos. I love their sense of humor, the great quality of their videos, and they have pretty great acting chops to boot. Telekinetic Girlfriend  is one of my favorite sketches.

Movies:

The Purple Rose of Cairo

The Purple Rose of CairoElla recently came to visit and after a great day out we just wanted to stay in, order some sushi and watch a good movie. And a good movie we chose. We opted for this Woody Allen flick and we both loved it! It takes place in the 1930s so naturally we loved it. The story line was so sweet and charming, and the concept is really interesting. I highly recommend this movie!

Ella:

Music:

My French Prof introduced me to some awesome French music. I know this isn’t everyone’s cup of tea, but I really recommend these four tracks…it’s great music even if you don’t understand what it’s saying haha. Hope you enjoy!

1) Laisse Tomber Les Filles – France Gall

This song is sooo 1960s, I love it!

2) Imbécile Heureux – Arnaud Fleurent Didier

Didier’s voice is like butter. This song starts out slow but picks up a minute in…it’s so good!

3) Les Cerfs Volants – Benjamin Biolay

This is a very unique song. I didn’t love it at first but it quickly grew on me. It’s just so cool haha.

4)Ne Me Quitte Pas – Jacques Brel

BEST FOR LAST. This song is so beautiful and emotional. I literally listen to it on repeat for a good 15-20 mins.

Youtube:

Will Darbyshire

Will DWilliam Darbyshire… I don’t think you can find a more English name. Will is pretty new to the YouTube game. If you’re a fan of JacksGap, you’ll enjoy Will’s videos. He’s posted 11 videos so far and I’ve enjoyed watching each one. I love the aesthetic and style of his content. You can’t help but feel like his friend while watching his videos.

 Beauty:

Revlon ColorBurst Matte Balm in Standout

revlonThis had been my go-to lip product for the month of May. I feel like this shade of red will suit so many skin tones. Best of all, the formula is matte yet feels so moisturizing on the lips. This has become one of my all time favorite red lip products. I can’t wait to try out more colors from this range.

Maybelline EyeStudio Color Tattoo in Bad to the Bronze

color tattooI’ve basically been wearing this product every day as a base to my eyeshadow. The formula is great! It’s a cream eyeshadow in a pot and blends beautifully. It’s a brown neural color with a bit of shimmer.  Like I said, it’s wonderful as a base but the color is so nice that you can just wear it on its own. Plus it’s very long lasting!

Movies:

The Pallbearer

the pallbeararI came across this movie while browsing Netflix. I wanted an easy watch and thought this looked pretty interesting. David Schwimmer plays the struggling Tom Thompson who gets involved in a bit of a misunderstanding when he volunteers to be a pallbearer for someone he doesn’t know. I have to be honest, the storyline isn’t THAT brilliant. I’m a fan of  Schwimmer and a sucker for all things 90s so I did really enjoy the movie. If you’re looking for an easy watch and feel like watching a unique romantic comedy then this is the movie for you.

 

Leave a Reply

