June 2014 Faves

Monthly Favorites

AUDREY

MUSIC


Guy Sebastian

Guy Sebastian

Many of you have probably heard his song Battle Scars. I was enamored with his voice and checked out some more of his music. Not all of it is exactly my cup of tea but his voice is so pure and powerful, it’s absolute perfection. My faves are Get Along (which I must have listened to 100+ times this month) and Armageddon. Also be sure to check out the acoustic version of Battle Scars. Damn.

Flaws – Bastille

Ok so this isn’t exactly a new song. But for those of you who are like me and are a little late to the party (or for those of you who may have forgotten about this tune), Flaws by Bastille is definitely worth listening to. I haven’t been able to get it out of my head! Also, the acoustic version

TV SHOWS


Bob’s Burgers

Bob's Burgers

I am completely obsessed with this show. I had seen a lot of screenshots and whatnot on Tumblr, but I was a little hesitant to watch it because I’m not always the biggest fan of adult cartoons (Family Guy, The Simpsons, etc). But the humor on this show is totally different. It’s just really awkward (and therefore awesome) and the characters are SO loveable and quotable. I really can’t pick a favorite (…ok fine, it’s Louise. But they’re all great in their own right).

Fargo

Fargo

I absolutely love John Watson Martin Freeman so I was excited to hear about a relatively new show that he’s in. Hearing him do a Minnesota accent is reason enough to watch. But if you need more, it’s a really interesting storyline based on the 1996 film and can be categorized as a dark comedy-crime drama. The whole rooting-for-the-“villain” aspect of it reminds me a bit of Breaking Bad. It keeps you on the edge of your seat and I highly recommend it. Fingers crossed for a second season (but only if it doesn’t conflict with Series 4 of Sherlock….).

MOVIES


The Grand Budapest Hotel

Grand Budapest Hotel

The moment I saw the trailer for this I knew I had to see it. Wes Anderson is everything. The style of his films is unlike anything I’ve ever seen. If you like his other works you’re sure to love this one. And if you’ve never seen a Wes Anderson film this would be a great one to start with (followed by Moonrise Kingdom).

Anything Else

Anything ElseAnother director that I absolutely adore. Several of my all-time favorite movies are Woody Allen flicks. The trailer for this film really doesn’t do it justice. It appears to be just another run of the mill RomCom, but it actually bears Woody’s signature aesthetic, soundtrack, and NY setting. I love the relationship between Allen’s character and his protege.

INSTAGRAM


Rachel Hauer

 

Rachel Hauer

Photo taken from her Instagram….which you should totally follow

Rachel Hauer is a NY-based tattoo artist and I adore every single piece she does. Her style is everything I want and love in a tattoo. Seeing her work pop up on my Instagram feed is always a nice treat and I often end up screenshotting them because they’re so stunning. Ella’s gotten more than a few texts from me about her amazing work. I also follow East River Tattoo which is the shop where she works. There are a lot of other super talented artists there, although I don’t think I love anyone else’s style quite as much as Rachel’s :)

ELLA

MUSIC


The Black Keys, Turn Blue

black-keys_turn-blue

This album has basically been the only thing I’ve been listing to this past month. Dan Auerbach and Patrick Carney…well done. Here are my favorites

1) Weight of Love

2) Turn Blue

3) Year In Review

4) Fever

YOUTUBE


LaMadelynn

lamadelynn

Okay I have the biggest girl crush on Madelynn. I love her hair, sense of style, and quirky personality. Her videos are really well done and her positive attitude always puts me in a good mood. She does a wide range of videos (hauls, travel vlogs, styling outfits, etc.) and I enjoy watching all of them.

BEAUTY


Almay Oil Free Gentle Eye Makeup Remover

almayIt took me a couple of uses before I became fond of this product. I’m not gonna rave that it’s the GREATEST eye makeup remover in the world, but it does a good job. I really like that it just feels like water and doesn’t have a thick oily constancy like some other eye makeup removers.

Psssst Dry Shampoo

Psssst

I was hesitant about jumping on the dry shampoo band wagon. I bought a travel sized version to try it out and I was pleasantly surprised. Let’s be honest, we’ve all had those days where we’re too lazy to wash our hair. Just spray some on your roots, let it sit for about 2 minutes, and rub in the product. Not only does it take away the residual oil, but it gives your hair some volume.

Leave a Reply

