Holy Grail: Fashion Edition

Current Obsession/Holy Grail

You stand in front of your open closet, clothes lying everywhere. You’ve flicked through everything in your wardrobe seven, eight, nine times and still have nothing to wear. You’re on the verge of pulling your hair out in frustration when you spot old faithful. Maybe it’s your favorite LBD that goes with everything, or that oversized tee that masks how bloated you are. Whatever it may be, every girl has those few fashion tidbits that she can always turn to, even on the worst of days. They may be ultra comfortable or maybe you feel extra trendy and stylish when you wear them, but some items you just need in your fashion collection. Here are our closet essentials.

Audrey

Audrey's Fashion Holy GrailClearly I’m into neutrals. While black is my go-to, I still love to wear these items in all different colors.

1 » Comfortable Tees – I love loose, slouchy t-shirts because a) they’re super comfortable and b) they go with absolutely everything. You can dress them up or down with the right accessories, but no matter what you’re always guaranteed to be incredibly comfortable. They’re especially great for those nothing-looks-good-on-me days. My favorites are v-necks and the best part is that they look great in every color.

2 » The Perfect Pair of Skinny Jeans – Every woman knows that finding that perfect pair of jeans is a magical moment. Having a pair of jeans that makes your butt look fab is an essential part of building your wardrobe. My favorite kind are dark wash skinny jeans because they look put together enough to be worn casual or a little dressier. If you look and feel good in your jeans, it’s a lot easier to build an outfit that you feel confident in.

» Maxi Skirts – Y’all know I love me a good maxi skirt. For those hot summer days when even my favorite pair of jeans aren’t cutting it, having a good maxi skirt on hand is a life saver. I personally love dark floral maxis and other fun prints. I’m looking to get my hands on a solid black one next because really is there anything you can’t wear with such a basic piece?

4 » Cute Underwear – This is another one of those look good, feel good pieces. Even if no one is going to see your underwear, knowing you have on your best lacies just makes you feel good. Having cute underwear is a fun little confidence booster. And I don’t need to tell you that wearing an incredible bra can make you feel 100x foxier that day.

5 » A Good Jacket – Whether I’m living in San Diego or LA I’m blessed with gorgeous weather almost year-round. Even so, having a good jacket on hand is super important. For one, it keeps you warm (duh), but it can also tidy up any look. If I know that I’m just running errands and I’ll be wearing my jacket most of the time, I don’t have to fuss too much about what I have on underneath. A leather jacket really pulls things together and makes it look like you tried, even if you didn’t.

Ella

ellas fashion holy grail

1 » Striped T-Shirt – Every time I go shopping, I’m automatically drawn to anything striped…I actually think I have a problem. I could wear a striped tee everyday. They are so versatile and easy to style. Add on a chunky necklace, bold lip, or even pair it with a contrasting print. A striped tee is cool and effortless.

2 » Denim Button Up  – There was a time in my life where I only wanted to wear a denim button up all day erry day. It’s my go-to item when I have no idea what to wear because it’s casual yet put together. Like a striped t-shirt, they are SO easy to just throw on and style. I also love the 90s feel of a denim shirt. 

» Dark Wash Skinny High Waisted Ankle Jeans – Wow that was a mouthful, I apologize. I have very specific qualifications when I’m shopping for jeans. They have to be a skinny dark washed cut because it’s much more flattering and versatile. It has be high waisted (sitting on the waist/belly button) because I find low/middle cut jeans uncomfortable. This might be TMI, but I don’t want to worry about showing crackage (yeah definitely TMI). Lastly, I prefer ankle cut because I’m short. Showing off some ankle elongates the legs a bit…it’s just an illusion though.

4 » Floral Print Skater Dress – I love wearing a skater dress in any floral print or color. I naturally gravitate towards them every time I’m dress shopping. They are feminine, classic, and comfortable.

5 » Neutral Cardigan – A cardigan in any neutral color is essential. I prefer wearing a beige toned cardigan rather than black or white because I find it’s easier to work with. Everyone loves a good cardigan; you can throw it over almost anything and it’s super cozy.

Leave a Reply

